Photographic Study Project

For this project I decided to take pictures of and design a collage for the Avid S6 audio control console that I use at work. It was a fun subject to take pictures of. Luckily this console is in a room with controllable light so it was easy to get even light on the subject. I like the way the the collage came together and I think it works well! Here are the pictures I took that didn’t make it into the collage.

9amattsearle-12

Screen and console from the side

9amattsearle-11

Up close of some of the knobs

9amattsearle-8

Up close of the faders

9amattsearle-7

Up close of the faders from center

9amattsearle-6

Side view of top knobs

9amattsearle-5

Angle view of faders

9amattsearle-4

Angle view of knobs

9amattsearle-1

Up close of transport and center section

9amattsearle_mix

Here is the final collage

Process: I used a wide angel cinema lens for all of these pictures and for most of them was using an aperture of 1.5. This gave me a really narrow depth of field and with this console ended up producing some great results. I tried to use a variety of angels and I wanted to make sure I had one picture in the collage of the whole console. I’m pretty happy with the final product!

Critique: I received critique from Ashlee DeanWesley Hartzell and Sister Peterson. Sister Peterson mentioned that there was an orange tint to my images which I tried to fix, she also mentioned that she would like to see the logo smaller and see some pictures that were more up close. I had some ready so I popped them in and I think it turned out well. Ashley also mentioned that she wanted to see some more up close images.

I provided critique for Joseph Devincenzi and Judy Carroll.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment